Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for customers in the Columbia area, including Palmetto and Alpine/Woodland residents.
Rates and Fees
A fee of $20 or $30 is used to defray the cost of initiating service. It will be billed to you on your first bill.
We are allowed to back bill a customer that benefitted from service while living in a home up to six months based on regulation 103-533.2. This determination will be based on the closing date on the HUD statement, or the lease agreement provided.
A fee of $20/$25.00 will be charged each customer to whom the Utility mails the notice as required by Commission Rule R.103-535.1 prior to service being disconnected. This fee assesses a portion of the clerical and mailing costs of such notices to the customers creating that cost.
The certified letter notice provides you with the time frame that you have to pay the indicated amount. Once you receive the notice and if it expires, you will owe all past due amounts on the account.
As a regulated company, we are required to charge rates that are set by the South Carolina Public Service Commission and fair to all customers. Utility rates are calculated based on the cost of operating and maintaining the water and wastewater systems, supplies and materials, as well as capital expenditures for infrastructure, such as pipelines, treatment facilities, pumping stations, storage tanks, equipment and buildings. Daily operating costs include but are not limited to; chemicals; laboratory testing; electricity; fuel; and the salaries of technicians, field operators, administrative personnel and others who help run the water utility.
Please visit our Rates and Tariff page for more information.
Our rates are regulated by the South Carolina Public Service Commission. A 1.5% late fee is charged automatically if your payment is not received on the due date. There is no grace period.